With The Forks Market renovations nearly complete, The Forks is thrilled to announce the second phase will focus on the history of the building by refurbishing part of the Market back into horse stables.
“We are proud of our history and are always looking for ways to incorporate it and make it part of the visitor experience,” says Paul Jordan, Chief Executive Officer, The Forks Renewal Corporation. “The Forks Market building used to be two separate stables when the site was being used as a railyard. Empty tenant spaces will be turned back into horse stalls allowing guests to pet and feed horses, making it a truly interactive experience.”
The new stalls will be located in the north and south aisles of The Forks Market, leaving the soon-to-be open Food Hall as the main eating area. Construction will begin in the north-west part of the Market, and will also include a hitching post outside where visitors can tie up their own horses when riding them to The Forks.
The Forks History during the Railway (1886-1923)
Beginning in 1886, The Forks emerged as one of the key sites of early railroad development on the Prairies. The rail yards of the Northern Pacific and Manitoba Railway Company, the Canadian Northern, the Grand Trunk Pacific Railroad and the Canadian National Railway dominated the site. Many of the buildings now seen at The Forks date from this time. The Grand Trunk Pacific Railway stable and the Great Northern Railway stable were joined together to fashion The Forks Market and the National Cartage Building is now home to the Johnston Terminal. Northern Pacific and Manitoba Railway Company’s Buildings and Bridges Buildings (B & B) now houses The Manitoba Children’s Museum, while Union Station (built by Warren and Wetmore, the same architects who designed New York City’s Grand Central Station) is still in operation.
Have a happy April Fools’ Day!