The Forks Foundation

The Forks is an incredible jewel that belongs to all of us.

Thank you to everyone who has helped make The Forks what it is today. Whether it’s by coming down for amazing experiences, discovering the incredible variety and uniqueness of local products, or making a gift to The Forks Foundation, you are showing you care about The Forks.

DD5_5292.jpg (2.21 MB)

Donations of all sizes to The Forks Foundation are essential to ensure The Forks is always cared for and remains a vibrant, engaging, fun place to be – for you, for our community, and for visitors from every part of Canada and the world.

It’s your donations that place benches, tables and chairs across the site. You support special events and activities like New Year’s Day that bring people together. In the winter, you keep the ice resurfacer in action seven days a week, smoothing the way for thousands of skaters.

Community donations support projects that make The Forks vibrant, relevant and engaging for people at every age and stage of life. Over the last 20 years, donors to The Forks Foundation have created:

  • The Plaza at The Forks, Canada’s best and largest urban skatepark and a safe, fun gathering place in downtown Winnipeg.
  • The Nestaweya River Trail, and the one-of-a-kind Warming Huts, that attract thousands of people and families every winter to connect and play outdoors. Winnipeggers say it’s the best part of our winter!
  • Public art like the internationally renowned artist Ai Weiwei’s Forever Bicycles temporary installation.
  • The refurbishment of Niizhoziibean, the southernmost point of The Forks and part of a pedestrian loop that connects The Forks and the neighbourhood of St. Boniface.
  • Spaces for festivals and events, such as the Pride Festival and Indigenous Day Live, that attract thousands to The Forks and build community.

Your care and support are needed to make sure The Forks you love stays wonderful – and gets even better. Please consider a gift to The Forks Foundation today.


The Forks Foundation Board Members:

  • Conor Lloyd
  • Johanna Chipman
  • Lila Goodspeed Everett
  • Matt Johnston
  • Remo De Sordi
  • Ryan Pollard
  • Sasa Radulovic